Sangollo named Queen of St. Patrick’s Day Parade

Sangollo named Queen of St. Patrick’s Day Parade
Kaylea Burke, Kiara Burnett, Abygael Lajeunesse-McDermott, Shealeigh Sangollo et Victoria-Anne Durivage. (Photo : Andrew Clark)

Shealeigh Sangollo was named Queen of the 16th annual Chateauguay St. Patrick’s Day Parade at a selection evening held at the Chateauguay 55-plus Centre on February 8. She will ride in the Queen’s float through Chateauguay streets in the parade on Sunday, March 29, beginning at 1 p.m.

“Chateauguay has always had a special place in my heart,” Sangollo said in her victory speech. “I have lived here all my life.” She is currently studying economics at McGill University.

Victoria-Anne Durivage was bestowed with the title of senior princess and will ride on the Queen’s float alongside Sangollo and junior princesses Kiara Burnett and Abygael Lajeunesse-McDermott. They were picked in a question-and-answer session among five contestants by a judges’ panel that included Robin Flynn of CJAD, Olivia O’Malley of Global News, Matt Grillo of CTV and promotions specialist Cyndi Turner. Odette Pottie and Edie Dupre acted as scrutineers.

Sangollo was sashd by 2019 Parade Queen Kathleen Davidson who advised the winners to “talk to people and get to know those around you. I know how nerve-wracking this (process) can be.” A sixth candidate bowed out of the running a few days earlier.

Grand Marshal of the 2020 procession is Guy (Irish) Berger while Louise Kinney is Chief Reviewing Officer. Queen Mum Marlene Davies will march as the Irish Woman of the Year, while Michael Ghorayeb is being recognized as humanitarian of the year.

Marlene Demers is parade director this year while Andrea Davidson acted as selection evening director. Paul Graif of K103 in Kahnawake was the evening’s master-of-ceremonies for the third year in a row. Cindy Boulanger is the banquet director for the April 25Awards Night.

The Chateauguay & Valley Irish Heritage Association organized the St. Patrick’s Day activities, led by president Michael McGinn, vice-president Patricia Martineau, treasurer John Wiwcharyk, secretary Shirley Deegan and ex-Mayor Nathalie Simon, public relations.

Dignitaries at the selection evening included Chateauguay MP Brenda Shanahan and Chateauguay city councillors Mike Gendron and Barry Doyle. Entertainment for the evening was provided by The Outlaws, consisting of singers Caren Macbeth and Steve Montour. Why do they call themselves that? “Because we used to be in-laws.” Macbeth quipped. .

Among Macbeth’s tunes were Tina Turner’s Proud Mary, Aretha Franklin’s Respect, Amanda Marshall’s I Believe in You, Demi Lovato’s Let It Go and Pink’s Less Than Perfect. Montour , a mean guitarist, handled the vocals for Simon & Garfunkel’s Mrs. Robinson and The Drifters’ Save the Last Dance for Me.

Also on the program were the Young Academy of Irish Dance under the direction of Janice Young TCRG -ADCRG who showed amazing dexterity and dancing ability for their “young” ages.

(Source : The Chateauguay & Valley Irish Heritage Association)

The Janice Young Academy of Irish Dancers who showed amazing dexterity and dancing ability for their “young” ages. (Photo Andrew Clark)


Partager cet article
Me notifier des
plus ancien
plus récent plus voté
Inline Feedbacks
Voir tous les commentaires
Janice Young
Janice Young
11 mois

I would like to make a correction regarding the name of the dance school that performed.

The proper name is the Young Academy of Irish Dance under the direction of Janice Young TCRG -ADCRG .

Linda green
Linda green
11 mois

Not a fan of Mike Gendron very rude man